RSS Feed

Thursday, Thursday, So Delicious To Me!

It is almost Friday. WooooHoooo! This is a far more exciting statement in the Fall once school begins for both me and the kiddos, but nonetheless…I thought I’d share some tales of lunchbox envy and workout wonderfulness with you on this under appreciated day before the day before the weekend.

What’s in your lunchbox?

My favorite Paleo-eating guy (who is seeing great results, btw) has been the target of some amusement and lunchbox envy lately. (Aren’t all Paleo enthusiasts?) He’s been taking his cooler to work daily this week filled to the brim with all kinds of delicious, healthy goodness, and some of his coworkers have been watching to see just what will surface around break time & lunch time each day. Some have even taken to teasing him when he gets out his blowtorch to heat up his eats (really, I’m not kidding).  While holding their PB&J or mystery meat sandwiches, they’ll say, “That’s not diet food! No way!” You know, conventional nutrition, food pyramid-quoting comments like that.

What do I say to their jovial teasing? (Because I really do like the guys he works with).

I say, “Exactly, dear coworkers, how well you understand!”

It isn’t diet food. It is the food that comprises our diet–the food we eat for health, vitality, and happiness because we live the Paleo Lifestyle. We don’t crash diet on some foods and then revert back to the junk that required us to diet in the first place. We live on real, whole, organic, farm-fresh, grass-fed, pasture-raised foods and plan on doing so indefinitely. Thank you for your concern. Would you like some maple-mustard glazed chicken thighs or some fresh, green salad with a heaping scoop of Practical Paleo’s delicious Bacon & Egg Salad?

We thought so.

You were drooling.

Here’s a napkin.

Now, a delicious little scoop on one of my new favorite places:

The Gym That’s Not Just Any Gym: It’s a Warrior’s Playground!

In preparation for a productive weekend (I want to write a few reviews for you and get in a killer workout), I took a little trip with one of my best fitness pals to a gym she has been bugging me to check out for years (seriously, if we were married, she’d be the quintessential nag–love her bunches, though). Today, I woke up feeling so fantastic that I figured it was better late than never to get sweaty at this place which still holds her very enthusiastic workout devotion.

Ouch…Ooooo….Ahhh…are my official words of recommendation.

I was dripping and completely exhausted by the time we finished the WOD (and when I say finished, I mean that I did a wonderful job of cheering her on after modifying lots of the moves/reps/etc. for myself) but, luckily, my fingers were spared so that I could let you all know that WarriorFit in Easton, PA is a serious place that offers so much more than cardio equipment! They don’t call it WarriorFit for nothing!

I’ll be interviewing the owner/head strength coach in the near future to give you all a sampling of what WarriorFit is all about!

Oh, and I’ll be working out there again on Saturday…if I can move!

Make sure to enjoy the rest of your day, Lovelies! And, stop back in tomorrow for a review of The Food Lovers: Make it Paleo cookbook! I have lovely dishpan hands all for your benefit! Well, that’s not entirely true, my family has sure benefitted from all the cooking, too!

XO

Nikki

PS–What’s in your lunchbox????

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

SweatItOut

On the Hunt for Modern Health

CaveGirlEats

Real Food in the Concrete Jungle

Life Made Full

Filling our lives with faith, family, and clean food.

Elana's Pantry

New York Times Bestselling author Elana Amsterdam founded Elana’s Pantry, the go-to website for easy, healthy, grain-free, Paleo recipes, in 2006

PaleOMG – Paleo Recipes

On the Hunt for Modern Health

Paleo Parents

A real-life approach to the Paleo lifestyle with tips and recipes to get the whole family healthy.

On the Hunt for Modern Health